Roasted Garlic Rutabaga

cooked rutabaga

Roasted Garlic Rutabagas

I LOVE potatoes. Who doesn’t? But, potatoes are starchy and higher in carbs than other root vegetables, like rutabaga.

The first time I tried a rutabaga I didn’t like it – it tasted nothing like a potato! However, as my tastes have changed, I’ve been able to adjust to it and I really enjoy the taste of rutabagas today…especially when they are flavored right.

Rutabagas have half the carbs of potatoes, and have a bit of a sweet kick to them. I’d definitely recommend trying to replace the potatoes in your favorite potato recipe with rutabagas at least once to see if you like them.

This following simple and yummy recipe was created by my best friend. She helped me cook this dish and I jotted down what she added as we went along so I could share the recipe on here. She throws things together off-the-cuff, as I often do, so it was fun to experiment together.

Ingredients:

  • 2 rutabagas
  • 1 cup chopped red onion
  • 3 garlic cloves (minced)
  • 1/6 cup olive or avocado oil + 1 tbsp. for sautéing
  • 1/2 tsp. onion powder
  • 1/2 tsp. garlic powder
  • 1/4 tsp. black pepper
  • 1 and 1/2 tbsp. rosemary (optional)
  • salt to taste

2 unpeeled rutabegas

Instructions:

Preheat your oven to 375 degrees F.

Peel and dice your rutabagas.

cut and peeled rudabega

Add 1 tbsp. of your olive/avocado oil in a pan and sauté your diced onion on medium-high heat for about 7-8 minutes until onion is transparent and golden. Add your  minced garlic and cook for an addition 2 minutes.

half cup diced onion plus minced garlic in pan
Place your diced rutabaga in a glass baking dish (I used a 9 inch pie dish). Add your sautéed onions and garlic, spices, and remaining oil to dish and mix well.

seasoned rutabega pre bake

Bake in your preheated oven for 45 minutes, or until fork goes through rutabaga easily.

cooked rutabaga

Enjoy! 🙂

This entry was posted in celiac disease, dairy free, Gluten free, paleo friendly, Uncategorized, vegan and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Roasted Garlic Rutabaga

  1. Veronica says:

    Thank you for this recipe!! It’s so good!

    Like

Leave a comment